Dancing in Tune to Radio 3

Increasingly, I listen to Radio 3 in the car. It must be an age thing although it was our constant companion as children, so I could be regressing to childhood. I always learn something from Radio 3 without feeling quite as depressed and overwhelmed as when I listen to Radio 4. Nor do I feel quite so confused as when my teens put Radio 1 on. I never listen to Radio 2.

I learnt something the other day with Radio 3 on that didn’t come from anything said on the radio. It was about Miss Puddleduck’s expressive language challenges.

Radio 3 was on and a melody began playing from Gounod’s Faust. Instantly, I recognised it.

“One of you dance to this piece in your ballet lessons, don’t you?” I looked at them both Miss Puddleduck and Miss Friendship in turn.

Miss Friendship has a remarkable musical memory and straight away she said, “It’s not me!”

Miss Puddleduck looked blank and as if she was about to say it wasn’t her either. But instead she said,

“I think it’s me.” She was listening carefully. “The notes are all right but they’re in the wrong order.”

Pardon? The notes are all right, but in the wrong order! What a fabulous statement.

It was her way of trying to say that it was the same piece but on the recording she danced to it was different instrumentation.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

