More Dogs and Pink Pyjamas

The boys left this morning to go boating on the Broads with their Grandparents.  They will have such fun. I guarantee lots of mischief, love and laughter.

What are the girls and I going to do with our week? Aha! We have “pony plans”.

I have been mildly worrying about how these two monkeys will cope with being separated. Their appreciation of each other is mutual, their characters frustratingly similar and their understanding, therefore, deep.

image

The welcome the canine gave to his boy, last time they were separated for a week should have been filmed! It was amazing. I’ll have the camera ready this time.

However, I walked in on this, this afternoon and realised that perhaps I shouldn’t worry.
image

We’d had a lovely relaxed day with the girls. They climbed at Tree Tops with Brownies, this morning, while Tim and I had a civilised cup of loose leaf tea in a hotel in Betws, followed by lunch with the girls in Conwy. It felt very grown up.

Growing up happens so fast. A memorable London trip, yesterday, with Longshanks and Miss Friendship, marked by so many laughs together, was another chime of the clock for me; another reminder. They’re growing up and I am learning to let them go and grow into the world that will be shaped more by their own decisions, now, than mine.

I noticed another chime of the clock this evening when I went to take a picture of Miss Puddleduck. It was reminiscent of an old photo which I then hunted down. Although the quantity of dogs has increased, as has the size of the child and the colour of pyjamas has changed, some things never change!

1910180_23033082264_8421_n.jpg

20160319_192004.jpg

A bit of Television time – that dalmatian takes it all in!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Parenting, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

