Summer Term Begins

Big sighs of contentment were heard from me yesterday.  A lot of laughter came from the children.  After a year of experimenting with an almost autonomous style of home educating and some exploration of different syllabii, we are back to timetables and set syllabii.  We have been drifting back into it gradually but with the start of a new term all the timetables were written out fresh.  Timetables and set syllabii is how we work best, hence the contentment from me and the laughter from the children. 

When the children had done all they had determined to do yesterday they occupied themselves with swing ball in the garden, the rope swing in the woods and three of them playing the piano at once which degenerated into hilarity.  It was the way they showed such pleasure in being together that impressed me most.  Longshanks and Miss Puddleduck went to feed the lambs and the next thing I caught sight of Miss Puddleduck riding high on the hay in the wheelbarrow with Longshanks pushing her through the mud to go and feed the horses.  When I asked for their help in sorting laundry,  he buried her beneath the clothes and she squealed with laughter.  I was less delighted, but with all hands on deck, the job was done in five minutes.

Back into routine…its good!  I do love home schooling.

image

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Home Education and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Term Begins

  1. twainausten says:

    Yes I do love home educating too! Do you mean you were unschooling for a while? I did that, then eventually found my way back to half a year of more structured learning.

    • deerfeet says:

      Yes. But they are better with structure. They have each determined their own timetables though and chosen what they want to do with their time beyond their syllabus work. I have always found there is an organic element to home educating that means you adapt and adjust as you go along and as the children grow up. Our early years were very structured and incentive based to develop a good work ethic, then they began to become very self motivated and didn’t need that so much. This last year has been about developing their individual interests and skills and now we’re amalgamating that back in with an individual core routine syllabus. They’re all doing different ones!

  2. We need structure too. It seems that things that we do daily, like maths and English, go better than subjects that we try to do once or twice a week.
    On another subject, I’ve just updated my UK Christian home educators blog list and included yours. Hope that is OK.

    • deerfeet says:

      Thanks Sarah. I’m very grateful to you for the link. I had noticed it. I’ve not got much time for blogging at tge minute but I will get back to it.

Leave a Reply

