“Surrealistic”

There were a few happenings today that made the day seem a little strange.

Today, I met with a friend with whom I could sense an emotional undercurrent flowing from her experiences these recent months but we weren’t at liberty to talk about them.   That was weird. 

Today, I had coffee with my violin teacher from University and his wife, in their home.   I haven’t seen him for 18 years.  That was wierd too but they are such kind people.

Today, we had no water or Internet for the majority of the day. Weird!

Today I had to cancel plans, thanks to our lack of water.  But no Internet meant I got on with some more redrafting of my “skeleton score” – fun!

Today, Longshanks returned from work with a dead goose under his arm. Huh?

Today, my husband told me he went to buy some water and milk.  In passing, he apparently picked up some flowers for me too.  But when he got to the checkout he discovered he didn’t have his wallet on him.  It’s the thought that counts!

Today a Dad and daughter made the most enormous mince pie for tea to use up the mincemeat I made at Christmas.  (The water came back on before tea, thankfully)  It was a little bitter!

Tomorrow, is a no work day for Dad.  He has taken some time off for a family day and the plan is to build a duck sanctuary for our seven quackers.   They are new to the menagerie – new to us – but they are not very new creatures.  They are a little beyond egg laying.  So we are going to build them a retirement home to enjoy their final days in.  “A sanctuary for dying ducks”.  My husband said.

How surreal will that be? I wonder!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Surrealistic”

  1. twainausten says:

    Funny;) but you’d be remiss not to send the hubby back to the grocer with $20. Gotta get those flowers.

Leave a Reply

