Loving the Little Things

3370491875_187273aa32_z

Another St Valentine’s Day and I am wanting to hide from all the hogwash the media saturates itself in, in celebrating eros. I was ready to have a “ranty” blog about why I don’t like St Valentine’s Day. Just in time, I remembered that I had done that once before. It was good I remembered for when I read what I wrote on St Dwynwen’s Day in 2012, I realised I would have repeated myself, even down to the “Bah Humbug” sentiment.

The media hogwash has bent my ear sufficiently, for I find myself thinking about romance.

Romance?

What is that?

The word conjures all sorts of different levels of expectation in our minds as individual as the thinkers. For me, romance is attention to detail. It is taking time to pay attention to small details that will communicate value, worth, whole-hearted attention and be self-sacrificial. Romance puts the other person’s interests before your own. In a relationship, that is an everyday thing. Romance is for every day, because every day there are opportunities to pay attention to small details. Let’s celebrate the sentiment St Valentine’s Day seeks to display in little things, every day. That is true romance. I love the little things.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

