Quality – Magic Moments

image

“Bye fatties!” Longshanks shouted as we left the yard and set off on the track for our usual Dapple-bum drive.  In an undertone,  I said,
“That’s no way to refer to your sisters” who were walking across the yard.  
“I heard that!” Piped up Miss Friendship.
Exasperated Longshanks retorted
“This school boy humour of yours is getting a bit much.”  And that was it!  I was reduced to the ridiculous giggles of one inclined to indulge in school boy humour.  He had of course been addressing the other ponies, Steady Eddie and Shy that we were leaving behind not his sisters.
image
Steady Eddie and Shy
When we returned from our drive, it was dusk. Miss Friendship came rushing out in her wellies, pyjamas and coat, with two cups of tea in travel mugs, one for Longshanks and one for me.

“I don’t think it is very hot any more,” she called back to me as she continued across taking Longshanks his refreshment. I nearly burnt my lips with my first sip.

What a unique bunch of youngsters I have been blessed with. I thought it again this morning when I went up to the tack room to help Miss Friendship put Shy out in the big field and heard Mozart’s clarinet concerto being blasted out at the ponies!

I am really looking forward to some quality time with this lovely bunch in one of my favourite places this, next week. It will be quality memory making moments.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Horses, Parenting, Rural Wales and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

