A Holy Moment

The child who struggles with expressive language came in yesterday evening and said to me, “Mum, can you come outside please?  I want to show you something.”  Now, I had just settled down, snuggly,  with my husband on the sofa to catch up on the day.  We were chatting and I didn’t particularly want to move.   A bit abruptly,  I said, “What is it?   Can’t you just tell me instead of showing me?”

And her face lit up.

“It’s really amazing.”  She said.   “There are birds and the moon.  You can see God’s word in the moon and you can hear Him talking to you in your heart.”

She was so excited and uniquely expressive that suddenly so was I.  Off the sofa I got and out I went to hear the birds, see the moon and listen to God.   She was right.  It was an awe inspiring night.

“There’s an owl in those trees over there.”  She pointed in front of us.   A little later an owl hooted. 

My morning devotions had been about taking time to notice God in creation and to praise Him for His created.  My day had been spent doing just that.  My little eight year old knew none of this but had completely entered into the spirit of the day.   It was a Holy Moment for her.  We talked about praise.  I knew she had experienced something tangible.

Romans 1:20

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home Education, Parenting, Rural Wales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Holy Moment

  1. May says:

    What a beautiful moment! Children seem to just be able to connect directly to the divine sometimes – maybe because they’re less distracted by irrelevancies.

  2. Gina says:

    Simply beautiful. I can relate to the joy of the moment. It shows that God is the author of expression and can create it in a child’s heart.

Leave a Reply

