“It’s OK Mum”

We took Dapple-bum out today.  It was my first time of seeing him driven let alone being driven by him.  Longshanks was very confident even when he did a rocking horse impression.  Some of our conversations went like this:

Longshanks:  Get in the carriage, Mum.
Me:  It’s OK.  I’m quite happy walking.  (I had a long lead rein attached to his head collar in my hand)
Longshanks: Go on, get in.
Me:  Honestly I am fine.
Longshanks: You’ll have to get in when we trot.
Me:  Why’s that?
Longshanks: (trying to be polite) Well!

After a tractor and car passed at really close quarters and the pony didn’t flinch, I got in.  It was so amazing to see him go and to see him enjoying himself.  Because he knows what he’s doing and what’s being asked of him he is really contented.  We’ve just got to train the patience and the standing side of his character – like Longshanks!

image

But not only has our pony had good training so has my son.  His confidence today really blessed me.  I don’t think my anxiety blessed him though!  But all went really well.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Horses, Rural Wales and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

