Grant Heaven’s Joy to Me

In unearthing the Long-Forgotten through our deep-clean clear-out, I have been reminded of how I used to spend my days trying to cheer as many people up as came across my path.  I would experiment and see what effect a simple smile and cheerful greeting could do.  Apart from becoming annoying, I’ve decided to do that again.  What do I find?  I find myself increasingly filled with joy and reminded that the life we live in Christ is a full one, no half measures.

Yesterday, my joy sharing amounted to a trip to the doctors. We rarely visit the doctor. Tim’s last trip was to get a sick note for post concussion syndrome after this and the last time I saw the doctor was when Longshanks’ immune system turned on him.

Yesterday, I walked into the doctor’s room and the first thing that struck me was that he had aged. It must have been a long time ago that Longshanks’ immune system went haywire.

I always get the impression anytime I visit him that he finds me highly amusing (perhaps because I once asked him if he didn’t finding dealing with people and their problems a bit depressing). This visit was no different. The first thing that struck him about me was obviously my hat, because he commented.

I asked him how he was. I do wonder how often people stop to ask how their doctor is before telling all that ails them. With a chuckle just below his reply he said he was well.

Only then did I tell him that I seem to have some condition that is trying to take over the world, beginning with my feet and now creeping up my legs. He diagnosed that it wasn’t leprosy (as Tim had told the children) and prescribed suitable medicine. This provoked amusement again as I asked for an in depth medical lesson on the process that these medicine’s would employ to make a difference and, of course, I expressed my distrust of certain medicines. As I left, I cheerfully threatened my return if the prescribed didn’t work. He laughed.

Is it spring or is it heaven’s joy being given? So much seems to bring me joy at the moment – the season of singing – it is great fun! And it is too much to record.

Laughter is the law of this house.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

