I Really Must Blow the Dust Off My Camera

And take some decent pictures.

Today was not an ordinary home educating day.  It was an extraordinary celebration of spring weather and an adaption of circumstance to fit a certain situation.  So I decided to keep a photographic record of the day. Unfortunately it is a substandard camera phone record. Never mind! Here goes…

I woke at 6 with the sun beginning to get closer to the horizon and read. At 6.45 I got up to ride.

image

I never normally take photos when we ride because they always end up blurred. But here we stood still for a minute.
image

My groom helped me, as she does every morning and when we got back she was helping another. ”
image

“…and stand!”
image

The silly old goat posed for a photo. She was bleating pathetically to get my attention.
image

Then our home school comrades arrived and some written work began.
image
image
image
We don’t normally have home school comrades working with us but today, while their parents were on a course, we did.

At breaktime, Seren needed to go out to the other field. What a great excuse to have a bit of fun.
image
image
image
image

Uh huh! The instructor has arrived.
image
And out to the field they go.
image
That was fun!

Has anyone seen an intelligent dog?
image
Lunch was a picnic affair on a wooden contraption in the garden.
image
image
After lunch, Longshanks asked for a lesson in domestic science.
image

Meanwhile, the rest of us went stone throwing. Literally? Yes! Literally.

I extracted my stone throwers from the tree house and they returned Miss Maggie to the house.
image image image

We need to clear the stones that have surfaced through the winter mud, so that the field can be prepared for spring growth. The bugs, worms, ant’s nests, fossils and crystals we found under and in the stones were all fascinating. But before we went stone throwing, I had to find the girls who had gone to “scotch”. That’s what a little person told me. The big girls had gone to do something. She couldn’t remember what it was called but thought it was called “scotch”. I found one of them.
image
“Scotching”

We climbed the gate into the field, ready to pick stones. Oh no! Last time I saw him flat out like this in the field, he was ill.
image
He’s fine. He was in a very deep sleep though.
image
image
image
image
image
One of the “scotchers” decided she’d rather read a book.
image
I love the way the sound bounces in that field so most of the neighbourhood heard the “Mum, come and look at this” shout.
image
image
It was just a hole in between the roots but we put our imagination in gear and thought what might like to live in there.
image
A fossil! The girls did a rubbing.

We also found bones, so had a look at a jaw bone and teeth, the spinal column, rib cage and so on. We discussed the colours of the rainbow when we found some violets.

I ceased from photographing the day as the home school comrades went home and the girls went to Brownies. I barebacked Splash in to bed and the sunset was spectacular.

It has been a beautiful day.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Home Education, Horses, Photography, Rural Wales and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

