While The Cat’s Away…

“…the mice have been amazing”!

My mice are not so little anymore, which makes the time of Dad being away so much easier.  They have been so good, and all been extremely helpful.  The boys have willingly sorted the wood and gone the extra mile helping in the kitchen.  The girls have been very good too helping out with things they don’t normally notice being done.  No one has moaned or complained.  Miss Puddleduck has commented on how she is missing Daddy, but no more than that.

Two things today have made me chuckle, besides listening to them all making each other laugh over their evening meal. 

I said to Rich Tea Boy and Miss Friendship, as I was preparing food,  “Could one of you two please sweep the kitchen floor?”

There was silence so I left looking at the potato I was chopping and turned around to see them standing facing each other, fist to fist.

“Rock, paper, scissors” and then peals of laughter as they both kept their fists tightly clenched in a rock.  They made me smile.  What a great way to determine who would sweep the kitchen floor.  I should mention that the floor sweeper did it with a fabulous attitude and Christmas carols, badly sung at the top of his voice.  He kept getting his Latin muddled!

The other occasion today where I found myself chuckling was on the way home from our trip out.  Rich Tea Boy handed Longshanks a piece of paper, left in the car from a few weeks ago.  It was an order of service from a Holocaust Memorial Service.  Rich Tea Boy said to Longshanks,

“Do you fancy having a go at singing the Israeli National Anthem?”

Longshanks replied, “I wouldn’t have a clue where to begin.”

At which Rich Tea Boy said, “Um…try starting at the top!”

As Longshanks didn’t oblige by even trying to sing it Rich Tea Boy made up for him by attempting to sing it to the tune of “While Shepherd’s Watched Their Flocks”. Perhaps, I should educate him.

They are now laughing at a game of story consequences they are playing in kitchen.  I love it!

I am missing the cat, though. 

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

