God is the Interpreter of the Dream

I have a dream.  No!  Not a Martin Luther-King dream, just a now dream; an impossible dream.  It’s a dream that seems to have found me, rather than I dreamt it up myself.  It seems to have presented itself and said “Make me happen” only I can’t do that.  I am the least qualified and equipped person to make this happen.  That’s the curse of being a dreamer, the ever dreaming “if only” type who sees the end result not the steps to get there.  Here is where God comes in.  Although, I should say He is the dream giver.  I know that too but, this week, I learnt that He “is the interpreter of the dream” (Gen 40:8). That is, He is the one who will interpret the dream by shining a light on my feet and showing me the steps towards making it happen.  His illumination makes them safe steps. To help in finding and following these steps He also has a way marked with signs pinned onto wisdom posts. “…and the wise heart will know the proper time and procedure.  For there is a proper time and procedure for every matter…” Ecclesiastes 8:5-6

The end result will not look like I currently think it will either, because God will interpret the dream to be what He intends.

I am searching for these signposts and seeking out the correct procedure.  Thus, when I came across this message it felt it was significantly written for my today.  It was a great encouragement.

“I will teach you wisdom’s ways and lead you in straight paths.  When you walk, you won’t be held back; when you run you won’t stumble.  Take hold of my instructions; don’t let them go.  Guard them, for they are the key to life”. Proverbs 4:11-13

The knowledge that He has a straight path for me to walk, on which I won’t be held back is so strengthening.

This is the path of faith and trust.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Church Life, Creative Communication, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

