Laughing At Our Mistakes

I am sure that the older I get, the more I laugh. I used to think that the description “Good Sense Of Humour” was ill applied to me and that I am far too serious but I realise that the majority of things I write about here are things that amuse me, so I must have a sense of humour of sorts!

As youngsters we were always encouraged to laugh at ourselves. I do think this ability is very healthy. I remember Tim telling me how he encouraged his piano pupils to laugh at themselves when they made mistakes. It is certainly a good thing not to take ourselves too seriously.

I once read an author who suggested that there is a link between the words “humour” and “humility”. “Hum” immediately springs to mind! Maybe they are connected when they are applied to being human? But etymologically speaking they are unrelated.

That aside, I do like the suggestion the author was making that a humble person often has a great sense of humour. Humility should include the ability to laugh at ourselves. I always wonder what Jesus’ sense of humour was like. I am convinced he had a wonderful sense of humour. I know I’ve said so before!

I love having a laugh with my children over some of the mistakes they make, or funny things they say. It keeps them healthy. These moments of laughter that we’ve shared this week just had to be documented.

A statement from Rich Tea Boy
Sometimes God made people who knew what they were doing and sometimes he made people who hadn’t got a clue.

Miss Friendship in her school work
Question: Imagine that you are answering a telephone call. What will you say?

Answer: Hell! Who is speaking please?

Miss Puddleduck at breakfast
She: We must put the milk back in the fridge. We mustn’t leave it out.
Me: Why is that?
She: In case of the mice.
Me: In case of the mice?
She: Yes. If you leave the milk out it turns to cheese and the mice like cheese. But there aren’t any mice in this house, are there?

Longshanks’ spelling in his driving portfolio
I learnt to drive couchman style.

“Couchman style” sounds wonderfully lazy and I’m sure there are many carriage drivers out there who could tell you exactly what “couchman style” is, or at least the image it conjures in their mind!

Proverbs 17:22
A cheerful heart is good medicine,
but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home Education, Parenting, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

