Boys Will Be Boys

After something got broken, I had a very serious talk to Longshanks and Rich Tea Boy.  It went something like this:

“Boys!  Now that you are all arms and legs you are too big to be wrestling with each other.  I’ve told you before.  I don’t mind you wrestling with each other because I know it’s very good natured wrestling, but you must go and wrestle outside.  There is no space for that sort of activity in the house.”

And they humbly conceded and apologised for wrestling in the house.  Five minutes later, Longshanks says to me,

“We might look like we are wrestling, Mum, but we’re hugging”.

I look up and see him with his arm around Rich Tea Boy’s neck and comment that Rich Tea Boy doesn’t look like he’s hugging back.  He is gripped in a head lock!

They can’t help themselves!  But they’re so funny with it.

We have finished formal work for term with pleasant, therapeutic and creative things planned for this next week.  However, those plans have not made us immune to hearing Longshanks say “I’m bored” then throw his hand over his mouth and exclaim “Oops!  We’re not allowed to say that, are we?” No!   That’s a dirty word in this house, the “b” word.  At first I told him to “be bored”.  That comes from my conviction that sometimes children just need to be bored and learn to cope with it.  But then I made a suggestion of something to do.  He began doing it. How it developed into dragging his brothers and sisters across the laminate floor at great speed with a hooked walking stick, I don’t know.  “Sigh”!  Boys!!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

