The Joys

I realised one of the joys of home schooling is that when it comes to holiday time, it really is holiday time. There is no homework to be done – otherwise that would be school. Here are some other joys from this week.

“Do Americans have phones?”  I’d told Tim there was an American an the phone for him. When I said yes, she then asked “Do they live in round houses around a fire and have a big gate and high fences. I realise that teaching about the iron-age celts has been misinterpreted!

It was an absolutely gorgeous day.  I called the children back in from break time.  In acknowledgement of the beautiful day they asked “Can’t we have a day off?”  Er?  No!  “But surely nature teaches us”.  Nice try Boyo!

I asked Miss Puddleduck to sit on her chair properly as she was kneeling at her small table to work. Quick as anything she said “But Jesus is sitting on my chair.”

I instruct all the children “You must cut your nails today”, because we’re going to perform in a little Easter celebration in an old people’s home. And the youngest responds, “Why? Because the bishop is coming?”. Obviously, my refrain that has been repeated in relation to the general state of the house and why I want to spring clean has started to reflect on personal hygiene.

My morning began with the question “Mum, what is circumcision?”

We finished for the Easter Holidays today and tomorrow we will be doing more spring cleaning in preparation for our Easter holiday entertaining. I have such a long list of people we need to have over and am only very slowly working my way down it. So, head down and housework done.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home Education, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Joys

  1. Phil says:

    What a question to be asking first thing in the morning!

Leave a Reply

