Speaking from the Silence

It has been a long time since I have written any blog posts. I was suffering from a bout of SAPD (Seasonal Allergy to People Disorder) that I usually get once a year in the January/February time when I want to hide and be unknown and forgotten, for a bit. Then the birds begin to sing of spring, the mornings get lighter earlier, change can be felt in the early morning chills and I know it’s time to come out of hibernation and celebrate this amazing thing called LIFE again!

So what has happened in the silence since my last post? Well, the Mayor has been to have breakfast with the President of the United States. While he was away we had lots of lovely trips out. We also did a lot of family history research and had some exciting finds that were fairly local. I have also been doing much writing on paper with a pen. That isn’t that common these days any more, you know! My latest book beginnings are actually a handwritten manuscript.

The dogs have disgraced themselves and mauled a lamb. They are now on bail and not allowed out of our sight. As always, I was deeply affected because I hate it when we upset our neighbours and that poor little lamb was in a bad way.

On a more positive note, the snow drops are out!

I have begun rehearsing with the Ceilidh band I play with again, because we have a few gigs coming up and I’ve had some more invitations for concerts to play in. I find those prospects very exciting. But also took much delight in listening to Daughter No.1’s description of the piece of music she is playing in her orchestra. She was able to recount to me where the other instrument’s parts come in. I was so glad to hear that she listens as she plays.

There is much more news but it isn’t of a sharing nature yet, so instead here are a few funny things I have recorded over the past few days.

No. 1 Son nearly falls off his chair in hilarity when I tell everyone that I think “Urban Chickens” would be a good name for a band.

Most unexpected tongue twisters were said on a car journey home while trying to remember the name of the naval school near the Marquis’ column on Anglesey – Indefatigable.

“Is that because you put bio fuel on your face?” This question came from the Mayor. I use bio oil!

“I wonder how many feet I’ve grown since I was born?” No. 1 Son asks and I begin an exposition of the necessary maths required to work it out, beginning with “Well, you were 53cms when you were born.” No 2 Son pipes up, “None! You were born with two and you still have two.”

There is something about our youngest that as I watched her long rein a pony while learning to drive;
image

And work with her own little pony on the days we had some spring like weather;
image

That brought to mind the work of Norman Thelwell:
image

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
Aside | This entry was posted in Family Life, Horses, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speaking from the Silence

  1. Janie says:

    This Thelwell picture is exactly what Suzi’s Katelyn looks like on her pony. Too cute for words!

Leave a Reply

