I don’t know what to call this post!

Tim teaches the boys how to use Pro-Tools on the computer and I overhear son no. 2. come to him for advice,
“Dad, you know that thing on the side of the music thing…?”
I pack out laughing at the lack of defining words.
“Yes”, says Tim, “What about it?”
“Well, it’s disappeared” the boy tells him. Tim packs out laughing and goes to help find the thing that disappeared.

The house explodes with dance, praise and optimism as Tim decides Israel & New Breed is the sound of the moment. I tell the girls to go and put their pyjamas on and they can have a dance before bedtime. How many other families do that before bedtime, I wonder? Tim laughs at my dance moves and suggests I missed my calling. It’s not music just to listen to, though. “You’ve gotta move!” We laugh at the lyrics that say “Living in the overflow” with connotations of living in a sewer, if you didn’t understand the context.

The youngest tells me,
“My heart is singing for you, Mummy”
She never fails to surprise me.
“Oh! What is it singing?”
“It’s singing “I love you, I love you, I love you, Mummy” she sings.
“Jesus has given me a new heart.” She says next and I think to myself how good and true that is. Then she continues,
“It’s made of glass and has flowers on it.”
And once again I wonder at the uniqueness of this child who never fails to surprise me!

Enjoyed my first ever just Mum and Daughter ride and took great pride in seeing her confidently control her pony when he tried to get his own way and her calm handling of him as he spooked at a robin.

“Mum, how do we hoist a flag in our den?”
I don’t know so I tell him to work it out for himself. Five minutes later he returns with an appropriate design. I love ingenuity!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Horses, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I don’t know what to call this post!

  1. Joy on a Shoestring says:

    Pre-bedtime dance marathons are an occasional feature in our house, too – sometimes more often than not, while at other times we content ourselves with good books or tickles all around!

Leave a Reply

