Introducing Granny

Time is a beautiful commodity.  Few of us know how to use it well.  My greatest battle (apart from with my own selfishness) is always with time.

A beautiful time piece is an amazing commodity.  With a feeling that it is so undeserved, a sense of huge responsibility, and sweet delight we have been given just that – a beautiful time piece.  Here stands “Granny” appropriately with young Alan to keep his eye on her.

She isn’t fully dressed yet as we need to redecorate the wall she hangs on and so the securing bolt hasn’t been put into her back, neither has she got on the piece of wood that covers over her pendulum.

But our day has become regulated by her sweet chimes and the children prefer to answer her call to their school work than the previously used alarms on my phone.  I catch myself counting the hours every time she chimes and it makes me feel comforted and a little more conscious in the structure and plan of my day.

I so love having such a beautiful piece of history hanging on our wall and those who know me well and have visited in the last few days will have experienced my exuberant but formal introduction to “Granny”.  There is more to the story and the lessons I’ve learned which one day I’ll tell!

But suffice to say, for today, “Meet Granny and Thank you, Sally!”

Ephesians 5:16

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

