“I’ve so much…

…to thank God for”.  This is a song that has become an annoying ear worm in recent weeks.  The expression is absolute truth, but the children’s song written by Ishmael that the words are attached to is repetitively annoying!  However, it’s a good reminder.

I have so much to thank God for!  I said goodbye to three wonderful young people who I am proud to parent and who seem to be growing up so fast.  This morning they went off on camp.  And I’m so excited for them.  They’re going to have an amazing time.

My children really bless me but the youngest has gone to spend the night with her cousin, leaving Tim and I at liberty to choose an evening out together.  We’re going for a picnic!

This last Saturday, we had a lovely family day together doing odd jobs at home.  Tim tidying the garage meant some very old rollerskates were unearthed and Tim’s old golf clubs.  Our second son took a particular interest in these.

We celebrated the news that after all the unfortunate events that challenged our oldest girl’s violin exam she still did very well, achieving 28 our of 30 on her A piece (which was the one she made a mistake in); 27 out of 30 for her B piece (her favourite), and 26 out of 30 for her C piece.  She got a merit over all.  We celebrated with fish and chips, and Saturday evening clouded over with contentment and thankfulness for all that family is and is designed to be.

But on Sunday we enjoyed the amazing extended family we call church.  We shared some summer weather (at last) together and a picnic by the river.

It was such fun.  

All ages enjoyed each other’s company.

I have wonderful family and so much to thank God for.  But today I ache for my sister-in-law and the darkness she and her lovely family are facing.  They are never far from my thoughts and are the most prominent in my prayers.  We need family!  It’s God’s careful design.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Church Life, Family Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I’ve so much…

Leave a Reply

