Making the Mundane Significant

I watched our youngest daughter counting out her pennies that she had taken from her money box, on Sunday.  They were only pennies, a mixture of one and two pence pieces, and she had them all spread out on her chair.  She was counting them out to put in the offering at church, for God.  Watching her do this was another sentence in the chapter Jesus writes for me to read.  It is the chapter entitled “The Small, Secret, Quiet and Hidden Things Matter.”  This is the chapter I have read again and again when I feel I am not doing anything of any great worth or significance.  This is the chapter I have re-read when my self rises up and demands why I am not getting the opportunity to stand alongside my husband and preach and teach along with him.  This is the chapter I turn to when I feel isolated by circumstance and not an active member of the leadership team at church.  This I read to remind myself that life is about bringing God glory.

Watching her count her pennies, really touched my soul.  I knew the value of the pennies and that they didn’t add up to much together, but she didn’t know that.  To her, she was giving what she had to give; the entire contents of her money box.  It was a “widow’s mite” offering.  Her attitude was sacred too.  She had the attitude of someone doing something amazing for God and was simply delighted by the fact that she had something to give.

On Sunday evening, I then picked up one of the books I have inherited from Granny.  When we went to stay in Granny and Grandpa’s house, my mother had said to take any books that we wanted as those that were left were ones that would go to be sold for charity.  I am now working through the books I acquired with great delight.  I finished a novel about France yesterday that has inspired me to try out some of the recipes of French Cuisine I took from Granny’s kitchen.  But the book that has been the greatest delight to me so far is a tiny little book commended to the Mother’s Union Members and that was first published in 1949.  This little book I spotted and put into a box to take home with us.  Tim later saw it and took it out saying “You don’t want that!”.

“I do!”  I said and put it back.  As I began reading it I laughed at it, mockingly.  Then every morning, this week I have incorporated it into my devotion time, erased my mocking tone and found a richness and relevance to the message it communicates.  There are a couple of cultural and archaic parts to it from 1949 that highly amuse me.  But it is part of Jesus’ next chapter to me that he writes.  He calls it “How to Make the Small, Secret, Quiet and Hidden Things into Significant Things”.

But that’s not the title of Granny’s book.  What is the little book?  Well, I’ll share a part that amused me, one of the archaic and irrelevant bits.

Seventh Contact: 

DEALING WITH THE “DAILY”

“No longer do I call you servants…but I have called you friends.”  John 15:15

Here is another lovely example of Jesus that you can follow, by making friends with your servant.  Love is like an oil to make the wheels go round.  You will find that two friends can do far more than a mistress and a servant.  But far more important than that, your friendship will give untold joy to what may be a sore and lonely heart.  It may lead you along wonderful and unexpected paths of loving service.

So what is the book, you may ask again, but I’m not sure that I’m ready to share that yet!  The Mothers’ Union Journal described it like this,

“An exceptionally helpful book written with understanding and sympathy, which shews how the Presence of God may be practised in daily work.”

I’d like to share more of its contents of how to make the mundane significant before I share its title and the author’s inspiration!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Church Life, Family Life, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making the Mundane Significant

  1. Tammy says:

    Oh, so wonderful, I know that you wrote this little message just for me! You do matter to God, because you have been chosen to raise up , part of his next generation!

  2. deerfeet says:

    It’s true, Tammy. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

