Quips and Quotes of the Week

Monday:  “Quince is even better than Rinaldo at football.”  (Quince is the dog).

Tuesday:  I’d put clean sheets on the girls’ beds and one pipes up “It reminds of Ouma’s”.  “Why?” said I.  “Because you’ve got clean sheets?”.  “No” said she, “Because everything is neat.”

Wednesday:  One daughter comes to get me because the other one is crying.  So I go to the bathroom where she is in tears and discover that she had dropped her toothbrush on her little toe.  I should explain that her toothbrush is an electric one so a little heavier than the average toothbrush.  Still, I didn’t think the accident that had occurred really justified the  volume of tears I was seeing.  As it turned out she had something on her conscience that she had to shift and with much grief she confessed that she had “sweared” while she was on the trampoline.  I was slightly knocked out of “comforting mother mode” in surprise but still corrected her use of English and asked her what she had said.  She told me the “B” word (they hear it frequently aired by local farmers!).  So I asked her what had made her think to say that.  “I don’t know.  I meant to say something else.” She wept.  Bless her!  She must have just got tongue tied.  I assured her it was nothing to get worried about.

Thursday:  One of the boys reads what he’s just written, laughs out loud and says “I live in a hose!”  Then he gets the giggles and says  “I think I need to change that to house!”

Friday:

Saturday:  I’m woken by the boys in the kitchen discussing scientific evidence that blows holes in the theory of evolution.  They’ve lost me.  I go back to sleep.

Sunday:  The boys are sat in the kitchen in their dressing gowns, one with a cup of coffee and one with a cup of tea, discussing World War I and World War II, before they get dressed and do their chores.  They’re like a pair of old men!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home Education, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

