Childhood Theology

I have collected together a few expressions from children that show their wonderful grasp of God and life.  These are all absolutely genuine, with quotes from my own children and the children of friends I was at school with.

Child: Mummy, who do you prefer Elton John or Jesus?
Child’s Mum: Elton John
Child: Me too. I love him. Jesus’ songs are really rubbish. I wish we sang Elton John at school.

Conversation in the car one morning between a mother and daughter, having dropped the father off for work:
H: Mummy, I don’t like it when Daddy goes away for long time. I’m terrified! (Trial of new word)
M: I don’t like it either, darling, but we don’t need to be scared do we?
H: No, because God has promised to be with us wherever we go.
M: That’s right – we can trust him to take care of Daddy.
H: So does that mean God is coming on our coffee date too?
M: (BIG SMILE) Yes, I guess it does!

“Jesus reads my Bible to me and tells me about His Dad”

“I’m going to sing a song to Jesus.”  Fairly tunelessly she sings, “I love you, Jesus.  I love You, Jesus.  I love you Jesus.”  And when she’s finished she declares triumphantly, “There!  He’s happy now.”

“God said “Follow me!” so we did.  We followed Him and He gave us this house and it’s nice and warm.”

On the telephone to Jesus: “Hello Jesus…I’m thinking about you…(long pause) …Yes, I know you’re thinking about me too.”

A child telling me how God feels when we make Him glad when we do what is right…”He laughs like this “Ho, ho, ho” like Father Christmas”.

“BC stands for Before Christ and AD means After Death

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Childhood Theology

Leave a Reply

