A Little Help Please

My wonderful mother made a suggestion in passing that has set my mental cogs in motion.  Her comment coincided with some encouragement from others which seemed to oil the cogs.  She suggested that I write a book about Tim’s year as Mayor.

I’ve thought and thought about this…and I’m still undecided.  “A Year with the Mayor” – hmmm?  I’m not sure.  But while I’m still thinking about it, I thought I’d start by keeping a journal of the journey and then the more I’ve thought about that, I’ve felt like I’d like some feed back from people who have read what I’ve written previously in my blog.  I’d love some people who would give me feed back on style; skill; where to improve; what’s good; what’s not; what they’ve enjoyed/disliked; where I’m making consistent mistakes etc.  In short, I’d like some good old fashioned English teachers to mark my work!  I feel like I need that sort of a spring board to jump from and dive into this next project.

I’d love help from anyone who reads what I write, but there are a few people who keep blogs that I follow, whose expertise and advice I particularly crave, as I truly respect and trust your skill.  If you have time and care to comment, I’d love to hear opinions from:

Mrs Sargent (without the eye shadow); a wonderful librarian (who is full of quiet wisdom); a Doctor of Literature (who has yet to show the world what is stored up in all the words inside of her); a gifted story teller (whose gift developed during a childhood of disobedient talking after lights out and stayed with him because he never wanted to grow older than ten); an incredible author (who is so original she made “ClothKits” cool, and for as long as I have known her, has stood head and shoulders above me – in skill and stature); and a talented craftswoman (who crafts with words – and scrapbooks).

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Little Help Please

  1. Honoured to be referenced in this. Who would have thought Mrs. Sergeant and I would ever be connected through a hyperlink! Got for it. You could test your work on on some community sites to get feedback from other authors and readers. I would suggest movellas.com but the average age is about 19, so maybe not for you. Happy to help in any way that I can.

    • deerfeet says:

      Thank you. I appreciate your willingness. I get the impression from others that I need to dive in and get on with it, but if you don’t mind me asking you for advice now and again, I’d like to do that.

  2. Seymour says:

    Thanks for the mention! At some point I’d gladly look at your grammar and style but now? No!
    Just write. Stop stalling. That’s all you need to do. You can worry about the technicalities later.

  3. Rachel says:

    Emily, I love reading your writing, its so honest and inciteful, I really feel I can see what you feel and think about what happens. I say too, go for writing! (and like Seymour said, the technicalities can be worked out later)

  4. How lovely to be mentioned, and in such a kind way. Of course I’d be delighted to help in any way I can, but Seymour is completely right: the most important thing is to start. I think that’s the best way to see if you can find (or perhaps tap into) a voice for the book. A journal is a really good idea (I would have suggested this if you hadn’t already started it), and maybe also a photographic record would help jog memories if you come to write about something reflectively. I’d also suggest considering some of the potential pitfalls that might come up, and planning ahead. For example, you might consider how much the children might feature in the book (for me, you are at your best when you write about them, but you might think there are privacy issues that don’t apply to your blog), or how much raw politics you want to talk about. Finally, I’d suggest consideration of your own role as Wife of the Mayor. Clearly this is a semi-official role (a bit like the wife of a vicar, perhaps?), but with no job description or salary. It would be very interesting to see you making sense of what that means (particularly as you are coming into your new role at almost exactly the same time as France’s new first lady, Valérie Trierweiler, with whom I’m sure you have simply heaps in common).

    • deerfeet says:

      I really appreciate your points, Jess. They’re very valid. I was thinking of taking a James Herriot type stance, of family names and place names being pseudonyms to cover the privacy issue. I was planning on writing from my perspective and observation and I have no political agenda. I just fancy capturing the year with as much humour as possible. I would love to pick your brain more as the project progresses.

  5. That sounds very wise, Em. This will (very neatly) allow you to write about whatever you choose, which I think will be helpful, in the early stages particularly. Looking forward to reading some early drafts 🙂

  6. Lilian says:

    Thank you for the kind mention! Sorry I only just saw it while catching up with your blog! I really enjoy your writing, so I’m not sure what to say in terms of advice, but I will have a think!

Leave a Reply

