Versatile?

My husband got out of bed this morning and a little one climbed into his place.  She then proceeded to interview me with a piece of lego about the life and times of rabbits, giraffe and ostrich.  Then she questioned me on why Jesus had to die.  It was a novel way to begin the morning and made a change from the questions I feel I have answered this past week about education and “Why home-education?”.  I feel almost as if I have been interviewed several times this week as I have been in different settings, meeting with several different people and discussion has almost always come back to education.

I have enjoyed finding other like minded people in the bloggersphere  who home educate and share their lives through their writing.  I am inspired by the ideas of other families and sometimes completely over-awed by what they manage to achieve.  But more constructive, is actually meeting with other families who home-educate and seeing lovely self-assurance that home educating builds into youngsters.  I really enjoyed, this week, meeting with a number of other home educators in our area that I have never met before and I’ve been home educating for 8 years.  Why our paths have not crossed before, I don’t know.

So in this “quietly getting on with it” community where we might not notice each other it is really nice to have been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award by a fellow home educator.  Her blog Joy on a Shoe String is well worth a read.  Thank you Vanessa, for the nomination and for your inspiring writing.

Home educating requires plenty of versatility and a readiness to do anything (including radio interviews with a piece of lego, first thing in the morning)!  The requirements of accepting a “Versatile Blogger Award” nomination are these:

  • Thank the award giver(s) and link back to them in your post
  • Share 7 things about yourself
  • Pass this award along to 15 or 20 bloggers you read and admire
  • Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award

It has sort of got a chain letter feel to it, but I understand that is the way things work in a world wide web and I am very honoured to have been nominated.

Seven things about myself:

  1. The only creepy crawly that gives me the hee-bee-gee-bees (yes, I made that spelling up) is an ear-wig.  I am content to handle or look at every other creepy crawly creature without getting squeamish.
  2. The first eight years of my life were spent in Africa and for the first time EVER, I was asked the other day, if I was born in a hospital.  I was reminded of how at school, when we first arrived in England, we were asked why we weren’t black and if we saw tigers in Africa.
  3. I adore reading.  The most influential book in my life is The Bible. My favourite fiction authors are Lloyd C. Douglas and Francine Rivers.  But if I start on a novel I tend to read it in one or two days and do nothing else, so I have to be very careful about when I read and try not to read too often, or nothing else gets done! (Phew…that’s quite a confession!)
  4. I can’t play the piano very well but I enjoy improvising and messing around.  I’m perfecting the art of making up accompaniments for my pupils on the spur of the moment.
  5. I studied Ancient Greek when I was at school.
  6. When I was little we were asked to start a collection of something so I collected pieces of material that my mother then made into a patchwork bedspread for when I got married.  It adorns our bed today.  I also collected baskets, but there were too many to keep when I got married!  But I still love baskets.
  7. I love Britain.  I think it is a beautiful country.  We had several books of beautiful walks to do across the country and I used to regularly look through all the pictures of different places as a child.  There was one place that especially captured my imagination and I worked out where it was on the map, how to get there, how long it would take us from our home to get there (5 hours), and if we could get there in a day and back (NO!).  I wasted a lot of thinking time planning and working it all out and regularly day dreamed about going there.

This was the place.  And here my husband proposed to me, beside the first lake, closest to the photographer, but he knew none of what I shared above!

 I will be passing this award on to other blogs I follow, but a sneaky preview at who some of those will be is by having a look at my blogroll!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Creative Communication, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Versatile?

  1. Lilian says:

    That is lovely about the bedspread and the place in the photograph (which I guess is somewhere in Snowdonia?).

  2. Pingback: Awarded « Musings of a librarian

Leave a Reply

