New Classics

  • One of the children said this about artichokes – “I don’t like those.  They make me sour and blind.”
  • I always have this concept that my time in the bathroom is private, sanctified time where I have a few moments of NO ONE talking to me, but invariably when I close that door it won’t be long before someone is outside it attempting to speak to me.  The lesser-good-tempered mother is then spotted on those occasions and I might even go as far as ignoring the caller.  But this, the other day, has to be recorded!

“Mum? Mum?”

I ignore until the calls are quite insistent and then I give up and inform the caller where I am.

“What do you want?” In a grumpy, gruff voice.

“I just want to know where you are.”  Long pause…

“Um…just to inform you, I tried to melt the chocolate spread in the microwave and the lid melted.  But it’s ok.  It’s outside now.”

My intellectual, but less practical son, didn’t realise that the lid needed to be removed.  However, I liked his practical solution of taking the flaming lid outside.  He described it all as a being like a bonfire.  I was most amused by his “It’s ok Mum.  It was an emergency moment but I’ve dealt with it” attitude.  “Just to inform you” were the exact words.  The house stank!

  • After drastically failing a test, he looks at me and says “I have a confession to make.” Oh?  “I haven’t been scoring properly.”  Oh!  In layman’s terms that means he hasn’t been marking his work properly.  The character and courage it took him to make that confession was evident by the tears in his eyes.  It means that he has lied on many counts, but the humility and honesty of his confession made me proud to be his mother and what, I believe, is an important development of character.  He has to work the book again, and that’s the discipline that comes from abusing the system, but I see the overall lesson learned as so much more valuable and I see the development of a young man who will take responsibility for his own actions.  I love this statement I read today: “A man may make many mistakes but he only becomes a failure when he starts to blame others”.  My music teacher always used to say to us “Girls!  It’s ok to make mistakes, just don’t make the same one twice.”  She was referring to music, but I find that very applicable to life.
  • Each morning begins with a spontaneous motivational song from Daddy, on the piano.  It is met with mixed amusement.  The first day, when Daddy sang to them a song about doing their work so that they can get a job and not end up living in a caravan, the eldest looked up mid-song and said, “Dad,” with exasperation, “I’m trying to do a Maths test.” But now in the morning they ask for a song.  I don’t remember all the songs, but the words of this one stick in my head.  “Concentrate, don’t procrastinate”  sung to a bouncy tune in a major key.
  • Some mis-pronunciations of the week come from the youngest and refer to food.

“Yay!  I love plaster.”  Said with a northern accent ie. a short “a”.  She’s referring to “pasta”.

“Yay!  I love Sugar Pups.  But my favourite is Weeta-Bricks.  Mum did you get any Weeta-Bricks?”  It’s not hard to guess what this reference is to; her favourite meal of the day.

  • “My Daddy is strong.”  This said in the true vein of children comparing Dads with pride, only this was a soliloquy and she continued with,  “He’s got BIG muscles.  Jesus is stronger than my Daddy.”
  • Not long after though she appeared with a doll in a box and informed me “It’s ok, Mum.  I’ve got Jesus in here.”
About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Home Education, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

