A Change of Season – unpublished from 20/02/11

This is the time of year when the children have their lunch as a “mick-mick” (Jemimah) or “pink-it” (cousin Rebekah) in the tree house.  There is something so delightful about seeing the sunshine and feeling the freshness of the promise of spring that makes us want to make the most of it.  When it really does get warmer  mick-micks or pink-its in the tree house are forgotten in the comfort of the everyday season.  We get familiar with it being spring but while we’re on the cusp of change from winter to spring we want to be out making the most of the change-over.

I do not favour one season over another. Without meaning to find a philosophical compromise that sounds very watered down and wishy-washy, I enjoy each season for what they bring.

My peaceful one is wandering around with an empty ice cream carton, asking if we can go blackberry picking.  She doesn’t understand the seasons. My one who fights for justice has just come to tell me that some of the lambs in the field nearby have grown very big.  My one who searches for wisdom asks me why the word lamb has a “b” on the end of it.  Friendship helps her younger sister to enjoy the outside world by watching out for her and lifting her up when she can’t climb.

I love the change of season. I find the actual time of change very exciting, when there seems to be the promise of a new season in the air.

I have to remind myself that life is full of different seasons and we tend to become comfortable in the new season until it’s time for change again.  The change is exciting.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

