All Pretty Girls…

“All pretty girls get something” said Tim, giving the girls a necklace each.  Longshanks pulled a face and mouthed “It’s not fair.”  Not that he wanted a necklace!

The girls just came to say goodnight.  The youngest pulled out from underneath her arm the little jewellery box that her necklace came in and gently took out her necklace, for the umpteenth time.

“Look what Daddy gave me” she said holding it out carefully with all the five year old pride of having been given treasure.  She isn’t the only one to be made to feel special.  I wear my new pendant with pride too.  It was given to me as a complete surprise with tenderness over a cup of tea and a catch-up-on-the-day chat.

I know this is the sentiment and essence that St Valentine’s Day is made of and the sentiment and essence are good.  Creating time for such expressions of love and appreciation are essential ingredients in the recipe of healthy relationships, but I have a personal loathing of St Valentine’s Day.  Why?  Because I naturally rebel against going with the crowd.  I always think that to do something on the same day that everyone else is takes all spontaneity away and blurs the poignancy of what is intended to be a unique expression of a unique relationship.  So, yes, I am very “Bah Humbug” about St Valentine’s Day, so to speak, and with a husband who refuses to even look at an Ikea catalogue, let alone go there because “everyone else does”, we are in unity.  St Valentine’s Day just isn’t us!  It is not an expression of who we are.

But about 2 years ago, just as we were going to bed one evening Tim said to me “Do you know what day it is today?”

I said, “It’s Monday.”

“Yes, but do you know what the date is?”

I wasn’t too sure about the answer to that!  25th January, perhaps?

“It’s St Dwynwen’s Day” he said and pulled out from under his pillow a necklace and earrings.  Thus, he introduced me to St Dwynwen and her day.  It felt so much more unique!

Happy St Dwynwen’s Day, people!!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

