Don’t Judge the Outward Apple-pearances

I found the boys helping themselves to fruit with much mirth.

“Woah!  What’s happened to that apple?”  An exclamation accompanied by joint laughter.  I had a look to see what they were chuckling over and saw that it was a cooking apple I had placed amongst the eating apples.  It was a particularly large and unsightly, bruised apple.  I explained to them that it was a cooking apple in the wrong place and they said they thought it was an over-sized eating apple.  Off they went eating their apples.  But left me drawing parallels  with apples to people.

I was thinking how easily we can laugh at or jump to our own conclusions on individual people.  Maybe I’m the only one who does this, but I can easily fall prey to mentally going “Woah!  Look at that person.”  I live to fiercely fight the cause of originality and uniqueness.  I will stand up and and declare that we are all unique, wonderful, gifted, and valuable.  I will fight to see someone explore, find their voice and express their uniqueness and yet, I’m still very happy to judge someone on their appearance within the context that I find them.  This action is a contradiction to my ideals and I recognise that so often there is a story behind the context.  I’d like to learn to understand the context; the “why” they are placed in the fruit basket when they belong on the kitchen window sill.

The parallel of the apples has become my parable.  I think sometimes people might be trying to be something that they are not and so stand out.  I don’t have anything against standing out, but I do against the misunderstanding that might occur within other peoples’ minds as they judge the individual who stands out.  Or sometimes, people are just in the wrong place.

The only new year’s revolutionary decision I have made so far this year has been that I want to do more in secret to bless others.  I want to do things that I don’t blow my own trumpet over and tell all the world that I have done.  But I realise I need to couple that decision with the need to look beyond the surface in others, to search out the secret and help them find their voice and expression, to help them create something original and become what they are designed to be, to see their own value and purpose.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Church Life, Creative Communication, Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

