January Classics

In the vein of previous collections of classic statements in this household (1,2,3,4, and5) I bring you a new collection of random things communicated – new for 2012.

Coming in with her little bantam (Poppy) under her arm, I overheard her say to her “Come, I’ll read you a story.”

In a game of ‘Apples to Apples’, everyone wanted to know who had put the word “sisters” as a good noun to relate to the adjective “dumb”.  There was uproar from the boys when they discovered Ruthie was the culprit and they declared her as having “betrayed her  own species”!  It might have been one of those “had to be there” moments, but it was hilarious.  None of us would have dared to suspect it was her.

The youngest has a vivid imagination, but she stretched mine to the limit when sitting on my knee she said to me, “I’m not real.  Pretend I’m real.”  Hmmm…Okay!

Wisdom I overheard in a brotherly discussion on politics, “To every decision there is a consequence.”

“Mum, I’d like some of my very own handkerchiefs and I want to embroider my initials on them.”  I had to remind myself he is an original not that from another era!  So, I bought him some handkerchiefs and one rainy afternoon he embroidered them all with a single J.  When I told his Dad of this odd request, an indignant Father said,  “Why can’t he share handkerchiefs like the rest of us?”  That is because clean handkerchiefs in this household don’t generally have specific owners.

The phone rang,  “Mum, do you want me to get that for you?”.

“Go on then.”

He came back.  “It’s someone from Sky Television wanting to speak to you.”

I answer the phone and the Sky Television man tells me he wants to talk to me about the Sky Television connection to our property.   Um…?  We don’t have Sky Television (in fact, we don’t even have a television).  So he concludes they must have the wrong address.  I ask him what address he has got.  As he tells me, I deduce he thinks I am my sister-in-law, as she has the same surname.  How random!

Tim picked a piece of paper that must have fallen from one of the secondary school pupil’s bag and was flying around littering up the town.  It said this:

I ended up going to court the other day and there was this stupid Chinese judge.  He shouted “Order in the Court”.  So I shouted, “Fine!  Two spring rolls and some prawn crackers.” 

If it is original, I’m impressed.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

