Along the road to learning to carefully listen again, Lord lead me.

While I was at University and very frustrated with how I felt I inadequately communicated the wholeness of life and love Jesus brings us, I learnt to listen to what He wanted to say to people and write it down in a poem.  I randomly and frequently wrote poems for strangers on trains.  I know!  When I think about it now, it was a bit weird.  But I have heard testimony that God has used at least one of those poems as an invitation to a lively friendship with Him.  They were not poems that rhyme. I enjoy sounds and the rhythm of words and so love messing around with words.

In the last couple of weeks, I’ve thought a lot about how Jesus can take the ordinary things, like words, or bread and fish, and can multiply them.  We may never see the miracle of what God does with the simple things or ordinary things we do as a step of faith.  How did the boy who offered his lunch, to Jesus, feel?  He wasn’t offering anything extraordinary, but he was willing to give it to Jesus and His disciples.  I want to give the ordinary things I have and can do to serve Him too.

Just the other morning, Tim said to me “Why don’t you write poems again?”.  Little did he know, I’m in the throws of writing one.

 

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Creative Communication, Reflections, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

