23 Years On.

At last! I knew this day would come. It is a significant day in my education and one I have been waiting for, for a long time; 23 years, in fact. I remember the classroom where I was taught it and the teacher who taught me, but I cannot remember the concept we were being taught.

What was the concept?  It was long division.  I never managed to understand how to do long division. I guessed my way through it and came up with elaborate answers but I never grasped how to do it. Beyond primary school, a calculator did the work for me, so it was never an issue. But this is one of the reasons I use the syllabus I do with my children. It teaches them to master a task before they move on. If I had been taught long division in the way that they are, I would never have been allowed to move onto other areas in maths without having grasped the “how to”.

Today is my day of celebration. My eldest has embarked on long division and I have learned how to do it with the simple explanation from their syllabus:
divide
multiply
draw a line
subtract
bring down number
…and I know that doesn’t make much sense to the reader, but it unravels the mystery of long division for me.

I’m growing up!  When I’m grown up, I want to be a…

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Home Education. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 23 Years On.

  1. Seymour says:

    Nope … I still don’t get it!

Leave a Reply

