A little encouragement goes a long way

As I embark on a conscious decision to improve my ability to try to keep our home in better order, with so many inhabitants, I thought the remarks I have received today worth noting.

Husband: “Oh, are you growing tomatoes again? Emily’s miracle tomatoes!” Thus, he acknowledges that I lack green fingers. It was one thing I did not inherit from my mother.

While cleaning the glass on the conservatory doors:
Youngest daughter: “What are you doing, Mum?”
Me: “I’m cleaning the windows.”
Youngest daughter: “Why?”
Me: “Because they are dirty.” (Filthy, would have been a better word, but she wouldn’t have known that word).
Youngest daughter: “They’re dirty?” (She sounds incredulous.  Maybe she doesn’t know the word “dirty” either or she’s never seen them clean?)
Youngest daughter: “What’s that?” and she creates a dirty smudge with her finger on the clean glass!  I sigh.  Maybe she is the reason I don’t clean them very often.

While standing on the kitchen sink to clean around the kitchen windows, my youngest son walks into the kitchen.

Youngest son:  “Now there’s a sight you don’t see very often!”

And a comment from the eldest today was this:

Eldest: “Mum, you know Dilys Price in Fireman Sam?”

Me: “Yes”

Eldest:  “Your slippers look like hers.”

Me:  “Thanks, Son!”

I love my family!

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

