Nonsense

I’ve just realised that my recent posts have been dominated by the word “death”; a dead kettle, a dead shrew, a dead lamb et al. So to lighten the mood here is some nonsense I found last night on a memory stick.

I am reading the Ladybird Key Reader series with Jemimah, that some people might remember as learning to read with Peter and Jane.  I am reading them to Jemimah to help her with sentence structure but this little piece of writing by Ruthie from last year is very reminiscent of an early reader.

Ben had a dog.
He loves it.
Ben had a bed.
He loves it.
Ben loves Dad.
Ben loves Mum.
I love Ben.
He loves me.
He is good.
He is a very good boy.

 

I also found an attempted pastiche of Enid Blyton, by Josiah.  I love the simplicity of children’s sentences and imagination.  I think I could learn from their ability to avoid unimportant detail.

THE NEW FAMOUS 5.
CHAPTER. 1.

It was the beginning of the summer hols. Peter and Jack sat at the table. Their Mother said that they would not be going to go camping in Devon this summer. But they were going to Tom Island (East Scotland).
Just Peter and Jack were going; but Mother said that she and Father had to go to Wales.

Jack said, “But where are we going to stay?”
“DO NOT EAT WITH YOUR MOUTH FULL, JACK! I mean, do not talk with your mouth full.”
“Sorry” said Jack.
“You are going to your cousins, Colin and George.”
“But who are their Mum and Dad?” the boys said, at the same time.
“Aunt Jane and Uncle Bob” said Mother and Father.

The next day, Peter and Jack went on the train to Tom Island. When they arrived at the Train station there were two boys at the platform. One was about 18, and the other was about 16.
“You must be Colin and George.”
“Yes we are”.
They had brought a wheel barrow to take the boys luggage.
“I hope we shall enjoy our stay with you.”
“I am sure you will enjoy Sea Cottage. It has white walls. It has a small front garden and a big back garden.”

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Home Education, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

