Last time/First time

“When was the last time you did something for the first time?”

This phrase was swung into my conscience when I was at University and I remember it rang a number of times and motivated me to get on with what I knew God was asking me to do.   It helped me take the step into the daring lights of something new.

“When was the last time you did something for the first time?”

Does it ring any bells, with you?

Here, I do something for the first time!  I upload a photo to my blog.

Perhaps this picture is not what was expected, but it lauds the achievement of something I have done for the first time.  There was once a day when we would not have given such an accolade to something so ordinary.  Please laugh with me!  I find it very funny that I have successfully knitted a home-granny-like-knit sock, with the pattern ingrained.  I have never knitted an ingrained pattern, nor a sock.  Also using four needles to knit a round is exciting and new, though I did practice that skill on a wooly hat, first.

I have tried my single sock on and it is very comfortable; a winter warmer, without a doubt.  But what good is one sock without the other?  That was the downside to the sense of achievement I found in completing my one sock.  I still need to make another and I am working on it, have no fear.

Socks hold no spiritual significance that I am aware of, but I am grateful to my sock creating experience for reminding me of that ringing phrase.

“When was the last time you did something for the first time?”

Hebrews 10:24 “Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works.”

Disclaimer:  This single sock cannot be classified as having the same meaning as either an “act of love” or a “good work” that the Bible is referring to here.

About deerfeet

I am a home-educating mother of four children. We live on a small holding in Wales and my husband is active in local politics and the lead pastor of our church, Festival Church.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Last time/First time

  1. Lorna says:

    if you’re in the mood for something new…you might like this for your next project 🙂

  2. Caz says:

    I think the sock looks great, snuggly and warm. A lady at our church knit Carys socks when she was younger and they were FAB. However Norm came home with Carys one day and only one sock. I was a little annoyed!

  3. Ellie says:

    haha that post made me chuckle – particularly the disclaimer at the end! I think the sock looks very snuggly and I’m very impressed with your achievement….however I also think sometimes God speaks to us most powerfully through the simple everyday humblest things….Look forward to seeing more of your “first times”!
    xxx

  4. Jill says:

    I’m very impressed you knitted that! I can only knit scarves with button holes in them…..i know….

Leave a Reply

